The Glory Of His Goodness

Moses said, “Please show me your glory.”
19 And [God] said, “I will make all my goodness pass before you and will proclaim before you my name ‘The Lord.’ And I will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and will show mercy on whom I will show mercy.

God’s glory is His goodness.

Have you ever thought about that?

Often, we think that God’s glory is a formidable, sometimes wrathful, bright light that overpowers us. But in Exodus, God refers to His own glory as His goodness. When I read the passage, I was left with a sense of awe and wonder. When we think of God as glorious, have we ever thought of it as His goodness? He is glorious because of His characteristics – not only is He good, but he is also gracious and merciful.

These things make Him glorious, and it makes me love Him even more because I realise that above all, God is good; He is goodness; He is glorious.

Leave a Reply

