The Importance Of Jesus’ Resurrection

This afternoon, I opened the door to a very interesting visitor.

I heard a knock and behold, who did I find but a Jehovah Witness giving out pamphlets for their special ‘Good Friday’ service!

‘Lots of people will be going’, she said as she handed me a pamphlet titled ‘Millions Will Attend – Will You?’ I politely took the pamphlet and set it on the table next to me. But curiosity got the better of me – I mean, I had never seen a JW pamphlet before, let alone been approached by one!

And as with all ‘interesting’ denominations, I scrutinised the pamphlet, looking for that one missing piece/fundamental flaw that made them JW, and me, a protestant.

And I found it – ‘You will learn how Jesus’ life and death can benefit you personally’.

Funny how there was no mention of Jesus’ resurrection, which should be no surprise because JW believe that Jesus was fully man, but not fully God.

Yet, it really made me think hard about Jesus’ resurrection. Isn’t it amazing, that the key to Christianity is Jesus and His resurrection? Yes, his death and sacrifice was immensely important, but it is the very fact that He overcame death that I can actually come to the Father justified and righteous? Who knew a JW pamphlet could make me more in awe of my belief in Jesus’ resurrection!

This idea reminded me of when I attended a Christianity Explored course (similar to the Alpha course) with a friend, and the question was asked ‘How do I know that God is real and that Christianity is the truth?’ The facilitator replied: ‘You can only know if it is true by looking at the empty tomb. Because if Jesus truly rose from the grave, then He is in fact God and God is in fact, real. And Christianity is the truth’.

So what was missing in the JW pamphlet/doctrine, was the very thing that brought me to Christ. In fact, it has brought millions to Christ. If Jesus had died for our sins and stayed dead, then it just means that the devil has won – and just like Jesus (assuming he died and never rose back to life), we will all die and never resurrect. If Jesus stayed dead, it means that God did not even have the power to raise His own righteous Son back to life. No resurrection, no hope.

So yes, as the JW pamphlet writes on the front page, ‘Millions Will Attend’. Yes, I will commemorate Good Friday. BUT, I will also be one of the millions celebrating Easter Sunday. Good Friday cannot start and end without Easter Sunday.

Besides, Friday-Sunday is after all, called the weekend 🙂

We were buried therefore with him by baptism into death, in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might walk in newness of life.
Romans 6:4 ESV

Leave a Reply

