Doctor Who Quote

The Doctor: Clara? You asked me what we’re going to do, I told ya. We’re going to go to hell, or wherever it is people go when they die, if there is anywhere. Whatever it is we’re gonna go there and we’re gonna find Danny. And if it is in any way possible, we’re going to bring him home.
Clara: You’re going to help me?
The Doctor: Well, why wouldn’t I help you?
Clara: Because of what I just did, I just…
The Doctor: You betrayed me. You betrayed our trust, you betrayed our friendship, you betrayed everything that I’ve ever stood for. You let me down!
Clara: Then why are you helping me?
The Doctor: Why? Do you think that I care for you so little that betraying me would make a difference?

That is what Christianity is about.

Many think that Christianity is about a God who sets his own rules, plays by his own rules and punishes those who defy him. Yet, that is not the crux of Christianity.

To understand we have to go back to the beginning, when God created man. He created and loved them, and guided them in His ways, telling them that certain things were commendable and others were dangerous. Yet, man knew what was good, but chose to turn away. We said ‘Yes God, we will listen to you’ but when we turned our backs on Him, we betrayed Him. And as He watched humanity fall, His heart ached.

And then Jesus came. God brought in the only salvation known to humanity – where at the courtroom, Jesus stands before us and says ‘Hold up, her sins are forgiven. She was guilty, but I took her punishment, so you can no longer punish her. She is now acquitted, free, purified’.

He went through hell to find us. He knew He had been betrayed, but He cared so much for us that our betrayal did not make a difference anymore.

Leave a Reply

