New School Year Updates

With another school year ahead of me, I have decided to set some new resolutions – which may or may not be followed through…

1. Theme of my second year: Anchor

Last year’s theme from God was ‘Everything And More’ because He had truly given me everything that I could ever imagine and EVEN MORE THAN THAT. The word ‘anchor’ had been in my head for awhile nearing the end of my first school year, and I felt that this word was appropriate for my second year.

Second year is a turbulent time. It’s when my grades actually count to my final degree. It’s the year when a part of my future is decided; when I start applications for vacation schemes; when I lean on God as my anchor in the storm. I pray that this year, He will continue to root me in His word and love, and that I will continue to stay firm in Him no matter what.

That is partly why I bought the anchor ring and have been wearing it almost everyday (I hope it doesn’t tarnish!!!)

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

I might also be trying to keep the Sabbath holy in the sense that I might try not to do any work on Sundays, which is especially difficult because I’m not one to sit still if I have a long to-do list. Then again, I have to re-evaluate my reasons for not doing work on Sunday and must make sure that I focus on God that day, as opposed to using it as an excuse to laze around and idle.

2. Daily thanksgiving

My good friend bought me this book:

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

So basically, I have to write three things that I am thankful for each day. Honestly, I think it might be a challenge because I do sometimes think I’m a bit like Eeyore, but we’ll see how it goes!

3. iClub

This year, I have the privilege of helping out in leading iClub, which is a church outreach event. It’s targeted at non-Christian international students and happens every week.

Please pray that God will give me discernment, wisdom, compassion and humility as I help out in these sessions. And hopefully, I might be able to blog about insights and revelations during those sessions.

Have a great week ahead everyone!

Leave a Reply

