Lessons From Pepper

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

This is Pepper, my 12 year old miniature schnauzer who kinda looks like a mini-sheepdog and acts like a cat.

I took him for his annual vaccination today, and I was very much amused that he had changed drastically from being the bouncy, noisy 2-month old to a greying, sleepy ball of fur. And I remember commenting to my dad that when Pepper was a few years old, bringing him to the vet was a nightmare because he would bark the whole place down at the sight of another animal. Now, he would make murmurs and whines, but nothing more.

And as I thought about this change as Pepper aged, the song ‘The Wonder of The Cross’ suddenly came to my mind.

May I never lose the wonder, the wonder of the cross.
May I see it like the first time, standing as a sinner lost.

I suppose it’s hard to explain how I actually made such a connection (!!!) but it really got me thinking. It made me think about what I would be like when I grew old. When I am old, I still want to have the same kind of zeal, excitement, love and fondness for my sweet Lord Jesus.

Pepper is old (84 years old in human age!) but he still reacts at the sight of other dogs, no matter how meak or soft he appears to be. Perhaps I will be like Pepper, reduced to soft murmurs. But I want to always be passionate and excited for God and with God. May I be young at heart and energised by Jesus.

So may we never lose the wonder, the wonder of the cross 🙂

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

2 thoughts on “Lessons From Pepper

  1. I have been thinking the same thing, and I am much older than you. I have read and heard of Christians not only losing their wonder and zeal, but also of falling and dropping out of the race at the end. I don’t want to be part of that statistic. Thank you for the reminder to keep the wonder.

Leave a Reply

