The Hopeful Sunday Christian

What does it mean to be a ‘Sunday Christian’?

We often hear that phrase flying around, but what does it mean? Of course, it could refer to the individual who only acts and lives like a Christian on a Sunday. The moment they walk out of the church, they’re a different person.

But I would like to offer another interpretation to this name that has been coined.

I call it the ‘Hopeful Sunday Christian’.

In all honesty, I am very much reminded by myself. This is the person who is all ready to go to church on a Sunday. Pumped up, oiled up and running on a caffeine-free adrenaline supplied instead by enthusiasm, excitement and love for God.

In church, we are full of hope for God’s promises in our life.

But then, the moment we walk out of church, we wipe that happy look off our face. We go through the week dragging ourselves to work and relying on our own strength to go through the day.

Well, that’s me. Sometimes I go to church reminded of God’s love and promises, and the day after, all the fears and worries crawl back towards me and I’m afraid again. I’ve let the clouds of fear and self-insufficiency cloud my big God who is standing right next to me.

One day, I’m holding God’s hands. The next, I live like I have no God – no hope.

Are you a hopeful Sunday Christian and a hopeless rest-of-the-week individual?

Yet, when I think about it, I wonder why I’m like that. I wonder why we are like that. Fear not, for Jesus has conquered the world.

My God is so big, so strong and so mighty
There’s nothing my God cannot do
My God is so big, so strong and so mighty
There’s nothing my God cannot do
He made the trees
He made the seas
He made the elephants too
My God is so big, so strong and so mighty
There’s nothing my God cannot do

My God is so great, so strong and so mighty
There’s nothing my God cannot do
My God is so great, so strong and so mighty
There’s nothing my God cannot do
The mountains are his
The rivers are his
The skies are his handy works too
My God is so great, so strong and so mighty
There’s nothing my God cannot do

picture

2 thoughts on “The Hopeful Sunday Christian

    • Same!
      It’s so hard to shake those feelings of doubt and fear sometimes. Sometimes, I wish I could be more trusting in God. For all that He has done for us, we should have more faith. Yet, we are so human 😦
      May we continue to grow in His love and wisdom!
      Isabel

Leave a Reply

