Living By Faith According To His Love

This verse really spoke to me today. 

Sometimes, I get so frustrated and annoyed with myself for not trusting God. I feel disappointed with myself that God has to constantly remind me that He holds me in the palm of His hands. I know this, yet I choose to listen to voices of the world and the cry of my own. 

I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.
The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.

Galations 2:20

 

1. Faith

‘The life I live in the body, I live by faith’ – what does this mean? 

I think Paul reminds us that we are are now of a transformed mind. We died with Christ, and were resurrected together with Him. So we may have the same earthly body, but we have a transformation of the mind – a new life, a new goal, a new marathon to a new finish end. 

Be in the world, but not of the world. Live in this world, but remember that we live for a different reason. Do not let the things of the world hinder you from living for your new-found purpose by faith. In all things, consecrate them to God in faith and trust. 

 

2. Living with Jesus As Our Guide

‘I live by faith in the Son of God’ 

We do not just live by faith – what principles and who do we live according to? Jesus Christ! 

For through His great love, he has given us newness of life. Thus, the life we now live is for Him.

 

3. Living According To The Greatest Love Story Ever Told

‘who loved me and gave Himself for me’

Many times, when I face troubles in life, and when I call out to God for help, one of the things that God always reminds me of, is His great love. His love that was so vast and deep that He sacrificed His own Son for my sins. 

So now, if He loves me, will He not guide and steer me? Will He not hold my hand? Will He not help me write my life journey, if I ask Him to? 

And why do we live by faith? The bible calls us to have faith, but although faith is ‘believing without seeing’, there still has to be a foundation or a principle that this faith hinges on. There must be a stepping stone for us to stand on before reaching out in faith!

Well, from this verse, we live by faith according to Jesus’ love and sacrifice. We can trust in Him unconditionally because we will always go back to that story at Calvary. Such a sacrifice is worth our mere sacrifice of having faith in our Father. 

Therefore, if any of us are facing troubles, or if we’re finding it difficult to sail through the choppy tides of life, may we always be reminded of God’s love and Jesus’ sacrifice, such that we are willing to have faith in Him. No matter what outcome God has ahead for us, faith is a continued journey; it is a determined way of life of total surrender. 

Interestingly, I was also praying in the context of my future life partner. And this verse spoke again to me. 

Many times, we try to imagine what our husbands would look like – his facial features, characteristics, career, humour etc. 

But God tells us to have faith in Him! For just as God created Eve specifically and intentionally for Adam, so will He specially choose  someone for each of us (or choose not to). 

And in the meantime, there’s no need to rush! Enjoy singleness – rest in God’s love. Rest in the reminder of Jesus’ sacrifice and great love for us. 

Image

Leave a Reply

