That ‘Christiany’ Friend

Lately, I think I’ve been very surprised that people are actually reading my blog.

It was originally meant to be a personal blog and testimony to my friends, but lately has seemed to become a little bit more than what I originally expected – and I pray that it is all for His glory.

Yet, I realise that I got a bit anxious when I realised one of my friends read my blog, mainly because they didn’t know I was a Christian, or they didn’t expect me to be that kind of Christian. Ashamedly, my first thoughts would sometimes be ‘Do they think that all these blog posts are weird? How are they going to relate to me now? Are they going to ridicule me or treat me differently?’

In fact, I vividly remember two of my friends talking: ‘Oh you know that rugby player? That very ‘Christiany‘ boy? Ya, that one.’

In this modern society, I suppose it’s hard not to realise that the adjective ‘Christiany’ seems to be a negative implication…

I know that I should try not to be afraid of these things. Mere thoughts can cause big yet unreal fears. And as I thought about it, I realised that people should not ridicule Christians. People should not have to treat Christians differently just because of the way we think. So here are just a few thoughts that I would like to share, if some of you are struggling with the same things:

1. Christians are still humans!

We are still like everyone else. We have a sense of humour (in fact, I think I am hilarious 🙂 ). We are not necessarily blinded by our faith – in fact, there are many intellectuals who are Christians. Take my favourite example, CS Lewis. We, like everybody else, have the capacity to question life, explore the wonders of science and art, and analyse the human mind.

What’s the key difference then? Christians do not just live from day to day. We believe in life after death and we believe that there are things beyond than physical life on earth. Sometimes, we gear our actions towards a higher purpose, but we very much operate in the real and physical world. We enjoy every moment on earth, yet at the same time, anticipate life after death.

2. Christianity shapes us and makes us better people

There are principles and rules in the bible that shape us to become better people. Arguably, the ten commandments may be deemed as constrictive, yet they were perfectly logical. In fact, these commandments must be taken in the light of its historical background, where Israel had just come out of slavery. This the first time they have freedom. Yet, with freedom comes discipline and restrain.

You must not have any other god but me.
You must not make for yourself an idol of any kind or an image of anything in the heavens or on the earth or in the sea.
You must not misuse the name of the Lord your God.
Honour your father and mother.
You must not murder.
You must not commit adultery.
You must not steal.
You must not testify falsely against your neighbour.
You must not covet your neighbour’s house.
Remember to observe the Sabbath day by keeping it holy.

There are many other passages in the bible. In essence, the bible teaches us how to be humble, patient and kind. It told us of the greatest love ever – one that is willing to die for us.

Hence, Christianity and the bible has the power to discipline, correct and guide. It is a commendable way of life.

3. Christianity is not a trend

Through persecution, ridicule and modernity, Christianity has stood the test of time. It is a religion based on historical fact.

And therefore, we are not people who are making a religion up as we go.

In fact, it’s probably not that ‘cool’ to be a Christian now anyway. Why believe in a man who lived 2000 years ago, claiming to be God? Yet, Christianity remains, cutting across cultures, languages and time.

4. Christianity is intellectually invigorating

5. A different idea of faith, trust and hope

Some people have lucky charms, while others believe in karma, yoga and the ‘laws of energy’. They place their hope and beliefs in something. Likewise, we place our hopes in a God and religion that has stood the test of time, culture and human persecution. People may call us disillusioned people relying on a psychological crutch – but at least we live our lives with hope. We believe, not in ourselves – because we are constantly changing variables – but in a God who is constant and omnipotent.

So my friend, I am just like everyone else. I am still like you – I walk, talk and breathe like you. The only difference is my beliefs – and everyone is entitled to their own beliefs, right?

Now that I am old and gray,
    do not abandon me, O God.
Let me proclaim your power to this new generation,
    your mighty miracles to all who come after me.

Psalm 71:18 NIV

Leave a Reply

