All For God, Nothing For Me

‘Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart,
as working for the Lord, not for men.’
Colossians 2:23

The world is overwhelmingly and excessively competitive.

In university, students say they are not competitive, but some clearly are. I don’t know much about the workplace, but I’m sure it’s a lot worse than university because now, it involves money and reputation.

But God reminded me that in whatever I do, always do it for God. Because when I do something for the Lord, there is no longer perfection, but excellence. God does not need to see perfection, because He already sees that in our very beings. We are the image of God, how much more perfect can we be in God’s eyes? Yes, we have fallen short, but it does not ignore the fact that we have His breath.

Rather, we are to focus on excellence. The excellence of character and conscientiousness. Be the soul among the sharks.

Also, this verse is such an encouragement to me, because I am to work not for men, but for God.

I do not have to compare myself to others. I do not have to put myself down because my friends did better than me.

Each of us have a different journey, and our work to God is all personal. It is for God to see, be it mission work, business or school.

So, today as I do my essay, I will give it my last push because it’s my last essay and I want to do it to the best of my ability in a place and school that God has chosen for me. I will not be anxious by other people’s progress. I know I will be blessed, even if I do not get an ideal mark.

All for God, nothing for me.

Leave a Reply

