Why I Believe

‘These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.
Deutoronomy 6:6-7

Just yesterday, I bought a study booklet on Mark for my friend (whom I hope is interested in finding out more!)
Her first response was ‘Why would you buy a book for me? Why would you do that for me?’

There were many things I wanted to say, many things on my heart that I wanted to sing, and many things I wanted to show her. Yet, I said nothing. For fear of ridicule? For fear of judgment and criticism? For fear that she might look at my everyday conduct and wonder whether I, as a Christian, was walking the talk?

Perhaps. Oh me of little courage. My little heart. The spirit is willing but the body is weak.

Next time, if someone asks me why I would go to all sorts of lengths to share the gospel with someone, this is my response:

“Because I believe there is a God. I believe that nothing happens by chance.

I reject the Big Bang Theory in its entirety because although Einstein and other physicists did solve the equation to the Big Bang Theory, there was a major flaw in their research – they never found the equation for the first few seconds in which the universe was created. The absence of such an equation clearly shows that either we haven’t found it yet and that everything is by chance, or that the universe existed in eternity. Either I take the dismissive and parochial view that everything happens by chance, or I take that leap of faith in my life to believe that there is something out there called eternity and an eternal higher being.

I believe that science supports religion, but science alone cannot create a whole universe. The possibility of a human enzyme coming together by random is 1 in 10^40 000 – that is more than the number of atoms in the universe. The less the possibility of chance, the higher the possibility of purpose and fate. And to ignore these pressing truths, is to live my life in ignorance and fear of something beyond the physical.

I believe that reason alone cannot create morality. I believe that man is inherently wicked, ruthless, bloodthirsty and monstrous. Hitler, Stalin, Lenin and all other dictators have shown me that when there is no God, no religion, no kindness, the darkness of a human heart smothers people with greed, selfishness and hatred. I believe that religion created morality. Religion sets the boundaries and rules so that we would learn to treat others as we would want them to treat us. And which more historically sound religion to believe in than in Christianity (derived from Judaism), which has been there since the start of recorded history.

I believe that Christian bible is coherent. It is historically accurate. The bible is itself a literature book, written by different prophets in different eras and social circumstances, yet bound together by the same message of God’s nature and the story of the cross. Prophecies in Isaiah link centuries later to the life of Jesus. To ignore such truths would be to irrational and blind.

Also, I believe that deep in man’s heart, we desire for something immaterial. Man chase after wealth and love, not solely for the material, but for the feelings that come with it. We were designed to long for something more, more and more. We marvel at beauty. When we see the mountains, we don’t look at the rocks and elements that make up those mountains. Rather, we realise that beyond all that, they are majestic towers, beautiful and astounding in their presence. I believe that in our human DNA, we are wired to see the immaterial and to long for the supernatural.

Up till now, people are still risking their lives to spread the gospel to people. They all believe that they are fighting for the truth. To show you the life of Jesus, they are willing to give up their own lives. That is why, my friend, I would go to the ends of the earth to bring you the story of God’s love for you.

If I die tomorrow and realise that Christianity was never true, I can bravely say that I would still not regret it. But I know that will never be the case, because He has revealed himself to me and to all His children. I know He is real because I not only perceive him, but I hear, see and feel Him. And at the end of the day, I know all will never be in vain.”

Leave a Reply

